top of page

The Start of it all

The beginning. They say this is always a good place to start, but what denotes the beginning? Was it the idea? The discussion? The execution?

I woke up one day and said I would like to make a game!

I started with ORK framework, very powerful but a little complicated to use even though the videos and documentation were outstanding.

I then tested RPGAIO, easier and also very powerful but still missing lots of features. Moved on to Plygame, visual scripting using bloks. This was easier to follow but still got lost and thanks the a guy named Marshall I was able to actually get a small village, vendors, and even a couple quests to kill goblins and rescue a guy! I had sword style and spells working.

Still, this was too much work for 1 guy to figure out an RPG never having done anything but play them. I then found Adventure Creator, not too tough to make an adventure game right? Hahaha....

I found a website (now defunct) called IndieTeamup and found Alverik and Olivier. We then decided to remake an old text based adventure game into a graphical one. So Pyramid 2016 was born (original was Pyramid 2000 released in 1978 by Tandy). It took us about 3-4 months to finish it and turned out nice, but at that time I also got the HTC Vive, threw a VR player into the scene, and I was hooked. Alverik and I decided to remake it into VR (Olivier wasn't interested in moving forward), yeah, how hard could that be? We already had a working game.

Yeah....Alverik ended up rewriting just about every script, writing new ones to tie VRTK into Adventure Creator. In short we ended up using only the graphical assets, just about everything else was scrapped.

But, this was a learning period for both of us. Thanks to Alverik we now have scripts that we can just about drag and drop into any project and work more on content than function.

So stay tuned, we plan on more adventures!

bottom of page